Jeepspeed or Toyota 7s / 12

BlueCoyote

Reaction
Decisoin time for me.
Have an 81 Toyota 4x that I was getting ready to build for MDR Class 12 / 1450 or 7s. Have all the tube, cell, shocks, and tons of spare parts.
But have had second thoughts - been thinking about going with Jeepspeed. Have a change to get a cherokee for cheap - 4cyl, 5sp, 4x4.
Both trucks are in about the same conditoin - motors are out, machine work done, ready to assemble. Both will need a cage work, etc. As for build time and cost they will be the same.
This will be my first desert racing vehicle. Have lots of experaince with Toyota, and have tons of spare parts. Have no Jeep experaince. But Jeep parts are cheaper than Toyota.
Now the though part:
As a first time racer am I better going with Toyota in Stock Mini, because it is a smaller class and I have lots of product knowledge?
Or am I better starting off with Jeepspeed because it is a larger class and therefor better contingincy$, potential payback, and room for growth?
All your expert opinions greatly appreciated.

Who are you calling Coyote ugly?
84 Toyota p/u Rokrawlr
86 4rnr
80 Toyota MDR Project

Kritter

Krittro Campbell
Reaction
If you are in it for the money...you need a different hobby..seriously! 1450 or stock mini is your best bet, 7s is expensive to be competitive. As for the Jeep Speed...if you want to be competitive in that class you will need the I6 4L...that is a kickass motor.

Kris
"Buy American before it's too late..."

JrSyko

Jerry Maguire
Reaction
Like Kris said, I would only go jeepspeed if you had the I6 motor. Otherwise, go stock mini and get experience racing.

See ya in the dirt!

Bryan_D

Reaction