Let me introduce you to Raquel – wait ‘till you see her Topless!

In 1973 I was a sophomore at La Jolla High School and Chevrolet released what has become to be known as a Gen II Chevy K5 Blazer. At the same time another La Jolla High School alum was becoming known as one of America’s greatest Sex Symbols. Raquel Welch, called by Playboy Magazine the "Most Desired Woman" of the '70s was on the minds if not walls of all boys my age. But, I also had my eye on the 1973 Blazer a friend had just purchased.

Jo Raquel Tejada was always a looker:

But she did not become the Raquel Welsh that we all wanted until she had some performance upgrades:

After more than ten years of planning, collecting and saving up, I've started to build my Raquel.

This is what she looked like when I first brought her home more than eight years ago:

My Raquel is 1973 Chevrolet K5 Blazer. For the last five or more years, she has just been a bare frame stored in various places around San Diego, waiting for me to start the Plastic Surgery to turn her into the "Rockhell" that she wants to be.

I've been planning this build for years and have a very clear vision of what she will be when finished. Instead of telling you what the plan is, I'll let you see the progress and the directions we take as we take them.

I'm working with Glen Straightiff of Complete Fabrication in El Cajon. Glen is doing most of the actual fabrication and working with me to get Raquel in the dirt.

I officially started the build on my Birthday, March 26th, when I started building the fixture of the front suspension; which consists of a Ford Dana 50 Twin Traction Beam.