lost compression

peezy

Reaction
well, i am going to change the subject from the title. (sorry about that)

is there a way i can learn how to re build a 2 stroke 125 engine? a guide of some sort?

also what does it mean if the engine lost compression?

bomber

Reaction
I'm not an expert, but a decrease in compression can mean a couple of things. It could be from the piston rings and cylinder wall wearing each other so there is slight gaps, could be a hole in the piston head, could be a gasket leak, or even a mechanical problem with the exhaust valve (I think this one is not likely tho).

Eric Gorr has a great site that is very helpful and full of info. His main site - http://www.eric-gorr.com/ and his 2 stroke rebuild guide - http://www.eric-gorr.com/2 stroke top end and performance.pdf

Dezertpilot

Reaction
A 2-stroke is the easiest thing in the world to rebuild. And cheap!!!!

kenaroo

Reaction
[video=youtube;-FFIWtqU5Zc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FFIWtqU5Zc[/video]

rmracer09

Reaction
when i rebuilt my cr250, me and my dad just followed the owners manuel when we needed guidence.

kenaroo

Reaction

Humm.. just rebuilt and got bad compression.... sounds a little strange....

I'd ask him a few things like what oil mixture and brand of oil was he using? how was he mixing the gas? some time people get lazy and mix oil in gas tank and it doesn't mix well or too much oil will seize a bike too.

does the bike crank over? could be more like the lower end going(crank bearings) or crank seal bad letting air in

could be the guy is just mechanically inept and didn't rebuild it correctly or mixed the gas wrong

regardless. if he's selling that cheap.. you really can't complain. a total engine rebuild for that bike would be pretty cheap (bearings, seals, crank, piston less than $600)

cosmo

Super Moderator
Reaction