Lowrance 540 No fireroads, WTF?

Marnes2986

Active Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Posts
30
RDC Crypto
0
Location
Corona, Ca
Ive had my Lowrance for quite some time now and I love it, but i just cant believe that i spent $500 on this unit and it has no fireroads. I was in Lucerne, Ca and the 540 didnt even have Bessimer Mine Road, which is a major dirt road in the area (it even showed up on my street navigator! but not on my 540).

Will Mapcreate solve this? Are there any other programs i can install? If i install Mapcreate can i install it on a another unit? (planning on purchasing a smaller unit for dbike)

Thanks
 

JebusTheGreat

Active Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Posts
36
RDC Crypto
0
Location
Torrance, CA
Ive had my Lowrance for quite some time now and I love it, but i just cant believe that i spent $500 on this unit and it has no fireroads. I was in Lucerne, Ca and the 540 didnt even have Bessimer Mine Road, which is a major dirt road in the area (it even showed up on my street navigator! but not on my 540).

Will Mapcreate solve this? Are there any other programs i can install? If i install Mapcreate can i install it on a another unit? (planning on purchasing a smaller unit for dbike)

Thanks

Mapcreate will add in all of this stuff. the 540 pretty much doesnt have any streets I thought...
 

Zambo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Posts
4,505
RDC Crypto
2,586
Location
San Diego, CA
Mapcreate should fill in most stateside trails etc. You have to keep in mind that these things are out of the box are chartplotters for boats.
 

sparkypyro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Posts
386
RDC Crypto
61
Location
West Torrance, California
Ive had my Lowrance for quite some time now and I love it, but i just cant believe that i spent $500 on this unit and it has no fireroads. I was in Lucerne, Ca and the 540 didnt even have Bessimer Mine Road, which is a major dirt road in the area (it even showed up on my street navigator! but not on my 540).

Will Mapcreate solve this? Are there any other programs i can install? If i install Mapcreate can i install it on a another unit? (planning on purchasing a smaller unit for dbike)

Thanks

This unit only has so much internal memory. It sold country wide. They couldn't possibly put all the info in it that is available. If they did the unit would be bigger than the car it is in. Map create will solve the problem.
 

D4D

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Posts
654
RDC Crypto
101
Location
Potato Land
Once you have Mapcreate you will have every little fire road and trail for the area you load onto the SD card. A good SD card has enough memory to cover the tip of Baja to southern WA and east to the cover CO.
 

loufish

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 7, 2005
Posts
801
RDC Crypto
113
Location
Burbank, CA
I'm a Garmin guy, so let me ask a question, Does Lowrance have topographical maps to upload to their units like Garmin does?
 

MattV

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Posts
404
RDC Crypto
56
Location
Desert Hills, AZ
The mapcreate maps are essentially USGS 1:20,000 topos. If you're using the XOG, you can also use the mapselect products, which are downlowdable USGS 15 minute maps, BLM maps and satellite imaging.
 

loufish

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 7, 2005
Posts
801
RDC Crypto
113
Location
Burbank, CA
The mapcreate maps are essentially USGS 1:20,000 topos. If you're using the XOG, you can also use the mapselect products, which are downlowdable USGS 15 minute maps, BLM maps and satellite imaging.

Thanks!
 
Top