Mendeola help please

eric widen

Reaction
I may purchase a car that has a mendeola md4 and a jamar shifter. I have not yet drove the car but the owner tells me reverse pops out after a couple seconds. He says there is no grinding in reverse just a thud when the gear slips. There are no problems in any others gears. I was told the culprit is the jamar shifter and that rebuilding tbe jamar or buying a proam would solve the problem. I am new to these transaxles and cars as I have had utvs and trucks. Any advise on this would be appreciated.

drofmij

Reaction
I just took a md5 in for service, a chipped tooth on the pinion and its almost 3k to refresh. Transaxles are splash lubrication, if parts are floating around, it can get expensive real quick. Especially if you start getting into 1st and second. There is a detent in the trans to hold reverse in gear. If there is slop in the shifter it could be not allowing it to be going all the way in to catch the detent. Or could be a problem with a detent. Has he had it serviced recently or ever? Does he have a receipt for it? If he does I would call that trans guy, he is the expert. Also I would call jamar and talk to them about their shifter. My proam was a little sloppy and it made it hard to find reverse and shift but not pop out of gear. I get scared every time I take a trans to the builder to freshened up, cause you just never know how much its going to cost. It would have to be a good deal or a car I really wanted, or I would pass on it. If its that good of a deal if he doesn't have a receipt for the trans you might as well plan on pulling it and having it gone through. You definitely don't want to be in the desert or even worse the dunes with a broken trans.
fyi a 2d is notorious for a weak reverse gear. What I have seen from advice from others is drive it like it doesn't have reverse. Is this a desert car or sand car? Whats it run for power?

Reaction