Mint 400 Tech & Contingency tips (+pit safety) - Graphic pic warning

MasTacos

Reaction
I've been working T&C at The Mint for a few years now and I always hate having to tell racers that their helmets, restraint systems or firesuits will not pass Tech.

While I can't ever recall anyone arguing against the safety standard. Failing a piece of gear means racers having to walk back up to the vendors and buying an expensive product at the last minute.

To avoid this I figured I'd post a quick overview not just for the new guys but for some veterans out there as a reminder.

Helmets:
The current BITD Rule Book, on page 21, states:

"Helmets must be of approved by one of the following with the appropriate approval decal attached; Snell SA2010 or SAH2010/SA2015."

To find out if your helmet is compliant, look inside, under the fabric (you may have to hunt around for it a bit with older helmets) to find the sticker that you see here:

images.jpg

350-OFM1__06.jpg.jpg

If the date on that sticker is 2010 or later, you're ok. If it's earlier than 2010, it's going to fail.

HEAD AND NECK RESTRAINTS (I'll call them HANS for ease of writing):

For HANS devices, the current BITD rule book, on page 22, states:

"All head restraints must be replaced or recertified 5 years from month and date of manufacture."

When you look at your HANS device, look for the silver sticker shown below (in some cases, it might be under the fabric of the shoulder piece). The punch-outs will tell you when your device was either manufactured or recertified.

Inspection Tag.jpg

Going forward, SFI is changing the format to make it simpler to determine date of manufacture so you may see this tag instead on newer devices.

FIRE SUITS (graphic picture below):
You've seen the videos, read the warnings and heard the stories about fires. It's the thing that scares us the most when racing and rightly so.