mounting points

tedmales

Reaction
what would be the downside to building a 4 link with all 4 bars above the axle instead of one below and one above. this would be a perfect design for what i need, but would like to hear some ideas. its not for a race truck, but it does nees to be very strong. i believe it might do strange things to the pinion angle when it was cycled because of how close the axle tube would be to the lower pivot, but i think with a little work it could be controled. i am not looking for long travel so i think this could work. any ideas, let me have them. thanks
ted

tedmales

Reaction
a quick idea of what i am talking about, and no jokes because i do not know how to use solidworks yet, but a ms paint pic anyway

Attachments

curt

Reaction
Being a 4link newbie I'm not sure but I would think acceleration and braking forces would have a major impact on the up and down travel of the suspension since your creating a lever instead of an approximate triangle. Strength might also be an issue again because your getting outside of a triangle...Curt

Kritter

Krittro Campbell
Reaction
when you got on the gas...the moutns would want to break off the axle or it would over rotate enough to bind the u joints and break them. Think of wheel hop with leaf springs...but now you have nothing to hold it back and the axle would want to keep rotating around.

tedmales

Reaction
thats true, i heard paradigm made a buggy like that, and i thought it would be a good idea to use on my excursion, that way i could have the height without having to make a monster truck style center section to mount everything on. but i guess if it worked, then the monster trucks would use it.

ntsqd

Reaction
I really don't see why it couldn't be made to work, but you'd better know what you're doing. You'll no doubt have to compromise some other performance feature to use it. If you want some reading on this specific linkage layout look up the WOB Link in Allan Staniforth's book.

AaronDixon