• Forum membership has its advantages....

New to desert

Hey guys, so I come from a history of racing short course utv’s in the Midwest such as the Lucas oil series. Recently moved out west and have always wanted to get into desert racing especially the Vegas to Reno (I like to tackle the harder things in life lol) my question is, what’s your guys’ advice for jumping right into it? I’m no novice when it come to racing but I am when it come to desert racing. Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

Curtis Guise

Administrator
Hey guys, so I come from a history of racing short course utv’s in the Midwest such as the Lucas oil series. Recently moved out west and have always wanted to get into desert racing especially the Vegas to Reno (I like to tackle the harder things in life lol) my question is, what’s your guys’ advice for jumping right into it? I’m no novice when it come to racing but I am when it come to desert racing. Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks!
Do you still have a UTV you raced in short course? I'm not sure how much different they are setup from short course to desert racing but maybe you can make the changes and enter one of the smaller series that has UTV classes to try it out. Or check with some teams and see if they need help pitting or chasing first before entering a race.

Do you still have a UTV you raced in short course? I'm not sure how much different they are setup from short course to desert racing but maybe you can make the changes and enter one of the smaller series that has UTV classes to try it out. Or check with some teams and see if they need help pitting or chasing first before entering a race.
I sold it before moving out west, I had a yxz set up for short course and they are set up much different, very short cage with the drivers seat very low leaving no room for a passenger, shorter stroke suspension. Here’s a pic for reference.

Attachments

450grl