• Forum membership has its advantages....

New to me vintage ford prerunner

Earthad58

i just picked up this vintage 1981 Ford F-150 4x4 prerunner truck, full cage front to rear built by a shop in Washington and what looks to be decked out with autofab parts, cut turned Ttb,long radius arms, coil buckets, traction bar etc, seems pretty simple and well built. Truck has a "built" inline 300 6 cylinder with a 4 speed manual and is still 4x4 with Deaver springs, I'm wondering if anyone can help, I'm pretty new to the "prerunner" desert truck scene and looking to modernize this truck a little and get it back into shape to play with at the dunes and take down to the hammers every year and play in the desert, the front springs currently seemed to be sacked out, I want to replace the front coils but not sure what to go with for the best travel etc, also I'm going to order foa remote res 2.0 shocks to replace the old school rs9000's that are on it now with compressor system.

Attachments

Chubs

Looks like a great start to a solid truck! You would probably want to install a pair of inexpensive 4" coil springs, drive it for a few days to settle the springs in, if they look right then get some quality, dual rate coils for the front, along w the new shocks the front end should be perfect....have you had a chance just to lay under the truck and take a look around? Sometimes a major issue will present its self just by laying there stareing at it. Add a couple of spares to get some wieght in the back.....got any pics of the front suspension with the tires off so we can see what is holding her up in the front?

scary fast hummer

PM sent.

Chubs

Where in Orygun are you? I'm in Redmond, just north of Bend, I've got an 83 Bronco, a 78 extra cab F-150, & 95 F-150, all falling in the prerunner/ project class...

Earthad58