• Forum membership has its advantages....

(noob) Classes and Races

Ridge

Hey Guys. Im new to this whole desert racing thing but have wanted to try my hand at it for sometime now. I did a little searching on the forum but cant really find what im looking for. Do classes race against other cars in the same class or do they race against other classes as well? How do you find what races allow what classes and where you can race at? I want to get a class 9 or a mini open truck. Does anyone know what the mini open truck class is?

Wendell #527

Class 9 is a good idea but 7 open in SCORE is better for experienced guys. Lots of class 9s for sale in classifieds here. You race your own class but you also race for overall. Some of the best racing is between different classes. However, you don't wanna be a diiik. If you are in a class 8 truck in last place, don't slow down a class 9 that might be in the hunt for a win. You will learn there is a time for good hard racing and a time to lay over. Welcome to desert racing. It is highly addictive. Get with an established team if you want to jump right into it.

J Prich

Hey Guys. Im new to this whole desert racing thing but have wanted to try my hand at it for sometime now. I did a little searching on the forum but cant really find what im looking for. Do classes race against other cars in the same class or do they race against other classes as well? How do you find what races allow what classes and where you can race at? I want to get a class 9 or a mini open truck. Does anyone know what the mini open truck class is?
What series are you looking at? SCORE, BITD, SNORE?

vegasloki

How to get started in racing (any racing, not just desert)

1) Check out which series race near you or at places you would want to race. Download the the rules for each of those series. Read them. More than once.