noob looking for insight Baja 1000

Hi All -

So noob here looking for insight. I an turning 50 next year thought it would be interesting to ride the 1000, done lots of MX, Desert MC racing, long distance endurance and Rally stuff.

My concern is / are the Trophy Trucks, we will probably ride this as a 2 man team, and are pretty sure we will be caught by the fast trucks. I am pretty sure we will have no issue finishing as long as the bike hold up.

Does anyone have any insight on not getting run over ? Am I worrying about nothing ? Just never raced in a Race with such a diverse set of vehicles and competitors.

Thanks in advance for the insight.

GO

BajaboundMoto

Maybe a better post for the "bikes" section.

IMO, you don't need to worry about trucks/buggies passing as long as you're smart about it....
1st goal is to reach sunset before getting caught, then it becomes much easier and less stressful for you and for the driver doing the passing.
Be aware timing wise when you're going to start getting caught.
Anytime you're caught pull off the course, way off the course, like 30+' off, before the car ever is in your dust. Don't re-enter the course until all the dust has cleared and you can see there's nothing coming.
And when you're caught (daytime a big deal) by the 1st truck pretty much figure your next hour+ is totally shot, it's not a race for you at that point, you'll be off the course more than on because there will be MANY battles happening bumper to bumper and you do not want to be in the middle of that.

rustyb

What Tim said...

Practice looking behind you while riding. Once every 15 seconds for daytime, 30 seconds for night. Seriously, practice, and stretch if necessary. I'm 58 and not as limber as I used to be, can be difficult.

Stuck Sucks