• Forum membership has its advantages....

Open Source Prerunner

Just throwing the idea out there to see if there would be any interest from the community. Maybe its been tried before but has anyone tried to produce a CAD drawing for a LT setup designed by forum members? I'm looking to start my 4x4 prerunner build and would be willing to share my CAD files with anyone willing to help with the project. End result would be a set of drawings that would be available to everyone that could be taken to a local waterjet/CNC shop to have cut.

P.S. new to the forum.... hope I don't piss to many people off

vegasloki

I'm going to share the docs of what I fab for the mini stock prerunner I'm building now (96 Ranger 4.0) . I've been working in open hardware for the last six years or so and have a small batch manufacturing operation that's been selling some of the parts (we've made parts and kits for over 10k machines in the last 5 years). With the maker movement and hardware tech startups open hardware has a lot of traction right now. I don't know if off road or even motorsport in general are going to be interested in any great numbers. A couple of months ago I joined a open race scale project that is wireless scale pads with a phone/tablet app. There is interest but still only two of us are actively working on the project. The software is in alpha, the electronics are pretty well in process (I've got it operational on a Raspberry Pi) and the design of the phone/tablet app is starting as well as the wireless connectivity. GitHub - RoaddogLabs/open-race-scale: Open Source Racecar Scale