Oxygen sensor

DOG ON

RDC's illegal immigrant
Reaction
I am finishing my prerunner, I have put the original ECU on the engine, nevertheless sometimes I feel the exhaust fumes are too rich and my eyes can get irritated fast in a fairly enclosed garage....

I think this is because I didn't use the oxygen sensor in the exhaust manifold as you can see in the picture.....

The car works fine , except for that little problem....can this lead to ECU going crazy and command an injector to flood a chamber , then having a bent connecting rod?

Can I do without the oxygen sensor safely?

Attachments

B Page

Reaction
I am new to this game; but I am not new to engine tuning.

Is there some valid reason not to use an O2 sensor? Are they known to cause problems during a race?

The computer only needs a couple inputs to operate properly, and the O2 is one of them. It will run better as the air temps changes, elevation changes, fuel quality changes, etc. It will allow the engine to live longer, as the cylinders won't get washed with fuel, etc.

Without the O2 sensor signal coming in, the ECU usually goes into some type of "limp" mode, or defaults to a specific fuel curve, based on RPM or mass-air-flow.

steveG

Reaction
You definitely need an Oxygen sensor. You should run every sensor the system originally came with. If you're not, you're not going to get maximum performance or fuel economy out of it. Also make sure you have a functioning check engine lamp. Otherwise you won't know when there's problem.

DOG ON

RDC's illegal immigrant
Reaction
Is there a specific practice or precautions installing an oxygen sensor in an offroad application? Dos, donts?

steveG

Reaction
Is there a specific practice or precautions installing an oxygen sensor in an offroad application? Dos, donts?
Do: Install it.

Don't: Not install it.

HA!