Pressurized fueling accident (Crickets...)

Myshot

Reaction
Why is the sound of crickets on this devastating explosion of an "American Tanks" "Pressure Pro". I thank God that no one was killed and there was no fire. I feel bad for the crew member that was seriously injured.
These fueling systems are NOT engineered pressure vessels. When the team I Volunteer to support decided to go this direction because of the time advantage they provide I had the opportunity to look closely at them. I am no an engineer, but have worked in the power plant and chemical processing industry my entire adult life. I saw flaws the day they arrived and brought them up to Vince the owner of American Tanks. He confirmed they are NOT ASME or API certified tanks and it cost too much money to get them certified.
But he tried to reassure me they were "tested" in his shop. and he uses "Aircraft" welders fabricating them. ( Look up that certification) I inspected the regulators that control the CO2 and the were NOT rated for fuel service. His response was that they were CO2, not taking into account the life of that tank in the shop, there are fuel vapors able to get into the regulator. I did not run any calculations on the safety relief valve, but in the real world, there are two safeties on a system that with full pressure from the supply they relieve ALL the gas without going 6% over pressure set point of the safety. That is suppose to protect the pressure vessel from a regulator failure.
The next most glaring flaw is the cylinder, a normally very strong system, however they cut a channel in the cylinder to allow for a sight glass ruining the integrity of the cylinder. Look at the failure and it appears to me the failure initiated in the middle base on what I see in the photo.