RacingTraX RS1 Ironman Challenge! Who's in?

RacingTraX

Reaction
Originally I was going to post this on January 1st as if it were a New Year’s resolution, but then I remembered I’m not good at keeping New Year’s resolutions so instead I’m posting this today as a thing I’m going to do in 2021 along with an invite for anyone who’d like to join me.

As a quick introduction, my name is David Clay, most people in the Off-Road community know me as the RacingTraX guy.

When I was 17 I lived in Aurora Colorado where I talked my high school auto-shop teacher into letting me build a Ford Bronco II into a “real desert race truck” which I entered into the mini stock SUV class in BITD back in the year 2000. After one race my life savings were pretty much gone, and due to my employment at Taco Bell I realized those savings weren’t going to be replenished anytime soon. At that point I decided to ask the guy that won our class if I could just race on his team, to which he agreed. After that I ended up driving or taking a gray hound bus from Denver to Las Vegas and rarely would I miss a race.

Over the next 20 years I raced with a bunch of different teams, dumping gas, navigating, pre-running and every once in a while getting the opportunity to drive a section. Regardless of what I was doing I was always just grateful to be at a desert race.

In 2014 I started Baja Tracking after racing in Mexico and seeing how bad tracking and communications could ruin a race. In 2016 BITD asked if we would become their official tracker, so with that RacingTraX was born and I got what I like to call my accidental second full time job, which I love.

For a couple of months now I’ve been thinking a lot about the last 20 years and how quickly it has gone, I also think back to that old Bronco II and how I have not since had a race program of my own.