Raid on OHV Funds Planned Again

Shred918

Well-Known Member
Time to take action again... if this was already posted my apologies

I got this e-mail from CORVA




Urgent! - Raid on OHV Funds Planned Again!

CORVA has received word that there will be another run on the OHV Trust Fund, this time aimed at the Grants Program that funds OHV recreation on federal lands. We all know that 80% of OHV recreation in California occurs on federal lands, most of it paid for with California OHV funds. Please take a few moments to fax and email Governor Schwarzenegger to voice your objection to this raid on our funds. SEND BOTH A FAX AND EMAIL - please do this today! Sample Letter below – Please use this to draft your own!


________________________________________

July 1, 2009

Dear Governor Schwarzenegger:

As a resident of the State of California I understand the gravity of the budget crisis and the difficulty of finding ways to resolve it. I feel very strongly that what is needed is long term solution, not temporary measures that only put off dealing with the problem.

I understand that our State Parks are in need of funding and that measures to redirect funds from the OHV Division to the Parks are being considered. I would like to point out that OHV funds are held in the Fuel Tax Trust Fund. Recent court cases have upheld the need for repayment if these funds are borrowed and used for anything other than the intended purposes.

OHV recreation areas on federal land are among the most popular in California and receive millions of visits each year. OHV facilities on federal land such as the Imperial Sand Dunes Recreation Area are for the most part funded by OHV Trust Fund dollars. The Oceano Dunes and other State Vehicular Recreation Areas are some of the most visited parks in the state. Redirecting funds from these areas to other less visited areas will leave millions of Californians with nowhere to go.

The State of California has already borrowed $90M from the Trust Fund. The OHV Trust Fund has already contributed more than its fair share. To borrow more from the Fund is not a solution to the budget problem, only a short term fix.

I urge you to avoid redirecting OHV funds to any other purpose.

Sincerely,

NameAddress




Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol BuildingSacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-445-2841
Fax: 916-558-3160 (new number)
Email address: governor@governor.ca.gov

Assemblymember Noreen Evans (D-Santa Rosa),
Chair Phone: (916) 319-2007
Fax: (916) 319-2107
assemblymember.evans@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield (D-Woodland Hills)
Phone: (916) 319-2040
Fax: (916) 319-2140
Assemblymember.blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Kevin de León (D-Los Angeles
Phone: (916) 319-2045
Fax: (916) 319-2145
Assemblymember.deLeon@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Roger Niello (R-Sacramento)
Phone: (916) 319-2005
Fax: (916) 319-2105
Assemblymember.niello@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen (R-Biggs)
Phone: (916) 319-2002
Fax: (916) 319-2102
assemblymember.nielsen@assembly.ca.gov Senator

Denise Ducheny (D-San Diego)
Phone: (916) 651-4040
Fax: (916) 327-3522
Senator.ducheny@sen.ca.gov

Senator Bob Dutton (R-Rancho Cucamonga)
Phone: (916) 651-4031
Fax: (916) 327-2272
Senator.dutton@sen.ca.gov

Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco)
Phone: (916) 651-4003
Fax: (916) 445-4722
Senator.leno@senate.ca.gov

Senator Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach)
Phone: (916) 651-4027
Fax: (916) 327-9113
Senator.lowenthal@sen.ca.gov

Senator Mimi Walters (R-Laguna Hills)
Phone: (916) 651-4033
Fax: (916) 445-9754
Senator.Walters@sen.ca.gov
 

TomJeeps

Well-Known Member
The State of California has already borrowed $90M from the Trust Fund.
How do we declare them in default of this so called loan, looking rather obvious they have no intention of paying it back...TJ:rolleyes:
 
Top