ranger prerunner

boltonbros

Reaction
one of my buddies wants to build a truck. he has a 91 ranger and he only has about 4 to 5 grand to spend on it. I told him to go with leaf springs but i have no experience with them so any advice would be great. he wants to keep his bed and no rollcage, just something to have fun with. what kind of suspension could he get by with for this kind of money, any ideas on this subject?

Hang Loose

SpareChangeRacng

Reaction
I'd say a roll cage is pretty damn important if you plan on using it offroad at all. You never know when it will do it's job and save his life! But for $5k he can do some good work on that ranger. I'd say get a set of bent (or custom if he can afford um) beams. Eibach 5.5" coils, custom radius arms, 2.5" shocks and limit straps in the front. Then if he wants to keep the bed and not cut through it put a set of leafs w/ a shackle flip in the back and stuff a set of resivoired shocks (about 10" travel) in there. You can make a new upper shock mount and weld new lower shock mounts on the axle to make this easier. Add a set of tires, gears and a L/S in the rear and you'r set. If you got $$ left over you can buy fiber fenders for the front to gain a little more clearance. Pull the rear bedsides to clear larger tires in the rea and there you go - budget ranger build! This is one of many EASY and semi cheap ways to build a ranger that'll be fun in the dirt. There are many other ways and they all vary by how much $$ you have to spend and what you can do by yourselves to save $$. Check the linkz section on this site to see some of the MANY fab shops out there that can build rangers. Plus the classifieds on this site is GREAT for finding deals on used parts... Steve

Marshall

Reaction