Rear suspension issues?

hello, im not sure if this is the correct section on these forums to ask these questions so please forgive me. i have a 92 f150 camburg long travel i beams in front and 4-linked in rear. i am new to 4 link and to the whole prerunner scene completely so please help me. i only have 3" of droop from ride height in the rear but i have LOTS of compression (up travel?) my question is what do i need to change to make the droop and up travel where they should be because i should have more than 3" of droop. my rear spring rate is adjusted perfect and coil screw is threaded down maybe 3" from top so that's good its not stiff in rear about perfect where i have it now and my ride height is pretty decent (could be a lil higher) is it being setup like this effect performance bad? i know it could be good for jumping but i couldn't see this being good for overall performance...

rear shocks are 16" king coil overs and 16" king triple's

(also im looking for some bedsides if anyone has any)
20150905_114841.jpg

20150911_102807.jpg

please let me know if you need more info or pictures

Last edited:

TRichards

Always set up the truck with the shocks bottomed out on the up travel side with a metal to metal stop.
Most likely the upper mounts are too high.
Take your shocks off. Remove nitrogen and springs
Let the truck bottom out at full compression
Bolt in the bottom shock mount with shocks compressed. This will show you where the upper shocks need to be mounted.
You should be able to get 24" travel out of a 16" shock without too much problems. Be aware of driveline angles.

Thank you soo much ill do this over the weekend and get Measurements. Making new upper shock mounts shouldnt be difficult either with the way the previous owner made it, should be easy to make me some nice sheet metal mounts instead of the little tabs thats on it now.

RanchoPacific Motorsports