• Forum membership has its advantages....

removable windshield

Andrew

Do you actually want a windshield, or do you just need it for street legality?

I've been trying to think of something for my chevy for a while. I've thought about maybe doing a flat plexi shield, and just have it "roughly" where the original windshield was. As far as I know, there's no way to secure a glass windshield to your cab that's not semi-permanent.... I'm no expert though

I have a couple hot rod buddies who are trying to get me to just put a 6" windshield on it so it's legal. Evidently that's all you have to have to be legal in CA

Brandon_Charley

Formerly "Cracka Racing"
Threat Motorsports was making removable windshield frames for Rangers for a little while.

I THINK it was a contoured metal frame with a means of bolting to the cab/cage. Glue the window to the the frame, bolt the frame to the truck(probably with some kind of a gasket).

Moss2

It is pretty common in some stock car racing circle track stuff. Instead of the glue or older weatherstrip style you have to find a flat soft material to make a bed for the windsheild to sit in so it doesnt hit any sharp edges etc. They make clips every 6 inches or so that press down on the windshield around the perimeter. Typically they just sheet metal screw them to the window frame. Most race tracks require you also make two straps that go all the way vertically top to bottom of the winshield frame. You prebend these straps opposite the curve of the windshield a little so when installed they lay flat on the window. Works pretty good and easily removed. Doesnt look stock of course.

DesertGuy1

any ideas on a removable windshield on a stock chevy cab?