Revive a dying class

T.martin

Reaction
I’ve been racing Jeepspeed 1700 for several years now. Won some races and collected a few trophies for second and third overall. I’m looking for the next class to go faster and I’m partial to racing a truck class. I could stay in Jeepspeed and race class 4700. Much faster than 1700. The class is currently growing and a suitable race truck can be picked up for a decent price. I’ve also been thinking of possibly purchasing a trophylite and making the jump to class 6000. There have been a few posts recently about class 6000 and now I’m not so sure.

I’ve been watching the car count go down in both 1700 and 6000 and car count and growth of a class is part of my decision process. I’m also not sure that there is enough of a jump in average speed when going from 1700 to 6000. So what about class 6100? The truck count is good and the trucks are fast. But honestly, too fast for my skills and cost too much for my budget. 6100 truck prices seem to match the cost of a trophy trucks these days (except for awd).

I’ve looked at average speeds for several classes and there appears to be a hole in the natural progression of speed in the truck classes.

2020 VtoR Top 3 average speed
6000 40.48
4700 45.76 (top 2)
6100 58.23
TT 65.11

2020 Parker 425
6000 46.31
4700 50.34 (top 2)
6100 59.73
TT 63.10

I’m looking for a truck class that averages around 50 mph. 4700 looks like it is close, but it is limited to Jeep and Dodge bodied vehicles and I don’t see anyone building a new vehicle for this class. I think this may be the void that trophylite R8 (6800) was hoping to fill. Not sure if that class will take off due to the class being tied to a specific business. I know everyone rolls their eyes when new classes are discussed so how about revamping a dying class? Based on truck count, 7200 is a dying class. 6100 has put more than a few nails in the 7200 coffin.