• Forum membership has its advantages....

Sedan based Short course race car. Input wanted

lsuakme

I've had the thought over the past few months of building a sedan/sports car based vehicle as a NZ Class 9 offroad racer (2wd/4wd cars, sedan bodies allowed) with it being solely dedicated to my local short course track for budget reasons. In its most simple form I want to lift the car a bit, cut the wheel wells, put bigger tyres on and possibly bigger shocks/stock shocks + spacers and go racing. Obviously there will be a roll cage and other safety parts but is this a feasible plan to build from a factory sedan platform and try reuse as much stock parts as possible? I'm a welder by trade so i can do most of the work myself and currently race circuit racing but this is a bit of a step into the unknown for me. The vehicles i would look most seriously at using would be Toyota Soarer/Lexus sc300/400, Nissan Skyline R32 (4 door), Mk3 Toyota Supra, AU/BA Ford Falcon 4.0, mid 90's Subaru of some sort all due to ease of parts and availability.

Rough ride height and inspiration of the idea, just unsure on how this particular vehicle would handle jumps

My local track, albeit looking backwards. 3 jumps the rest the stock bits would handle fine

i'm not after a meg dollars tube framed prerunner style build, just something cheap to have a bash in as im wanting to downgrade from my circuit racing because of the cost of it. Any info would be great. Cheers

Ol' Curmudgeon

RDC's resident crackpot
Not too sure any kind of off road racing can be enjoyable with "just something cheap."

How's a unibody vehicle with only a cage going to stand up to repeated jumping and bumping?

I don't see anyone doing that successfully in short course or desert racing anywhere.

PDANK Racing