Shock adjustment

J_Dog

Reaction
I'm pretty new to this, so bear with me please. I did a search on the site and could not find any other info. My partner at work and I just bought a 7s Ford Ranger that came with 2.5" King Bypass shocks (prerunner model). The original owner said he never adjusted them because they were so much better than what he had before. We went testing for the first time and the truck seemed to kick up in the rear a little off the jumps. Could have been driver error, but seemed to still do it when we felt good off the jump. My question would be, when adjusting the rebound I'm assuming you would lessen it? Also, how many turns should we start with (i.e. is 1 full turn a lot or should we start with more and record results). We are going out testing again on 04/29/02 at Prairie City OHV (Nor. Cal.) the day after the VORRA short course race there. Any suggestions or info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jeff Matlock

Kritter

Krittro Campbell
Reaction
Was it kicking off due to bottoming out or too stiff, or too much psi in the bump stops? Elaborate for us.

Kris

<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dmsrace.com>www.dmsrace.com</A>

cleartoy

Reaction
IF its the rebound, increase the dampning, which will slow down how fast the shock extends.

Like the other guy said, maybe the compression or springs are too stiff.

DO record your results. Starting with what you have right now, That way, you can revert back if you need to. Dont be afraid to make adjustments.

85 Toyota xtracab 4x4(for sale)
94 Toyota stdcab 2x4
99 Yamaha YZ250

Got Sand??

JasonHutter

Reaction