• Forum membership has its advantages....

Siren/ Horn

Racerinside

What is the best reliable horn to get for a race car? Would a siren even be worth running or would an airhorn be better?

hotdogwater

We have a Hella supertone. It's not enough. Most people don't hear it with their motor running. Use it to get past tech and got one of these:

clogking

Hay Hotdog have you used one of those air horns at speed? We/I found that at speed the incoming air counters the pressure of the can and they hardly make any noise. Racer if you can afford the money and the weight (we run a 1600) on the front of your car(the good speaker weights almost 10lbs + or so) then get a siren/horn out of a fire truck/police car. You pull/sneak up behind some one and hit the horn they move over right away they thinks its a Mack truck/TT/class1 behind them.They work great !! Good Luck

I'm a firefighter, and do a lot of the outfitting on my local department's vehicles. The best companies are Carson, Code 3 and Whelen. Check out www.sirennet.com, the owner is a good dude, they're "own" brand remote siren is a Whelen w/o the decal, and cheap. Air-horns aren't as loud as a "Yelp" or "Hyperyelp" tone, those work MUCH better... I'm speaking from first hand experience

GreatWhite

I'm a firefighter, and do a lot of the outfitting on my local department's vehicles. The best companies are Carson, Code 3 and Whelen. Check out www.sirennet.com, the owner is a good dude, they're "own" brand remote siren is a Whelen w/o the decal, and cheap. Air-horns aren't as loud as a "Yelp" or "Hyperyelp" tone, those work MUCH better... I'm speaking from first hand experience
so wait you're saying that the air horns from the sirennet brand AREN'T as loud? and the the yelp hyperyelp ARE as loud or much better?

Race8100