sohc thermo housing

DSRacing

Mini Metal MOD
Joined
Jan 21, 2003
Posts
3,529
RDC Crypto
494
Location
Used to be Southern California, Good Riddance!
Get in touch with Juan at FiberWerx, he has a couple of options for replacing the plastic housing.

(619) 843-9819


Personally, I've used the plastic housing on our race engines without any problems. Did yours break?
 

Wahl_7s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Posts
310
RDC Crypto
8
Location
Whittier, CA
Eliminate it! You can take the whole assy. off and make your own. thats what we did on our truck. but if you need the temp sensor as well as the temp sender you need to make that provision in the new return neck. if you don't need the heater you can also change the water pump to 4.0 OHV to eliminate the bypass hose.
 

osborne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Posts
284
RDC Crypto
93
Location
redding ca.
I am using the ohv water pump, thats part of the prob. I cant seem to find a good way to plug the outlet on the thermo housing and i just dont trust plastic.
 

Wahl_7s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Posts
310
RDC Crypto
8
Location
Whittier, CA
I am using the ohv water pump, thats part of the prob. I cant seem to find a good way to plug the outlet on the thermo housing and i just dont trust plastic.

Is it a driver or a race truck or fun truck? If it's the last two take it off and make a new return neck.
 

osborne

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Posts
284
RDC Crypto
93
Location
redding ca.
its a race truck. I dont see how to build one and still use the thermostat. any tips would be great. thanks.
 

Wahl_7s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Posts
310
RDC Crypto
8
Location
Whittier, CA
its a race truck. I dont see how to build one and still use the thermostat. any tips would be great. thanks.

I don't have a thermostat its not necessary. I just made a flange to bolt to the top of the block and bent a piece of 1 1/2 " tubing to return to the rad. It also makes it easier for a sending unit, I just drilled and tapped 1/8 NPT in the tubing. And you don't need the temp sensor.
 
Top