• Forum membership has its advantages....

Sorry new Q:Dual Sports

Dezertpilot

Been toying with the idea of getting a 4 stroke dual sport in the summer time. I was thinking KTM at 500cc or bigger. MAybe 6 or 650. I have a friend that works at Yamaha but she says that they dont carry any bigger than a 250cc or so. Then she says that KTMs are like real expensive. 3 times the amount for one part than a Yamaha part. She said that they are good bikes just expensive, then she reccomended Honda dont they make the XR650 or something along those lines. I want this bike to be able to ride back and forth to work 8 miles down the road then be able to fill up and go to the MORE/MDR races and spectate/pit and then ride home. Whats the top speeds on these bikes and how far can they go on a tank? Cant I put on a dezert tank for extended cruising? Are these green stickers and what prices am I looking at? Sorry for all the newb Q's I am new to bikes but it seems like alot of fun!:)

PBR

the first thing you should know when you talk about "dual sports" is that there are only a few that you can buy new. in january 2004 the law changed and you can no longer register an off road bike with a plate in california, although rumor has it that they are changing things back. so the only true dual sport bikes you can buy are the suzuki drz-s, honda xlr 650, kawi klr 650 and the husky's you can now get with a plate. i really like the husky from everything i have read but they are definitly not for everyone. the other thing to do is buy a used bike that already has a plate on it. there is lots of info on www.thumpertalk.com