• Forum membership has its advantages....

Stand alone AC

dezerts10

BANG!! BANG!!
I think read or noticed Andys new AWD mason TT has an AC unit and I know Kartmans LS powered bronco that's for sale in the classifieds has a Red Dot AC.

Anyone know much about the units and configuration? Are they similar just a little smaller then a ductless roof top AC on an RV?

I have a 4runner project / prerunner that I removed the AC system from because the condenser was damaged so the unit lost all Freon and lubrication. I have debated rebuilding the entire system but then I saw Kartmans in his add and heard about andys. I looked at red dot website and it seem like a viable option for what I want to do but curious if they are 100% standalone and how decent they actually work.

anyone with some knowledge?

mfs

im not a expert but i do know quite a bit about how a/c systems work, i think the one you are looking at is The Red Dot R-6260-1P Rooftop Mount A/C Condenser? ( it says: Note: Condenser Only not a complete A/C Unit) so you would have to use your stock engine mounted a/c compressor and what ever parts to make it work, run a/c lines charge it etc. rv ones that are stand alone use 120v and draw a lot of power takes a pretty big gennie to start one. a 12v ran compressor is possible it would draw lots of current i have not seen any that are 12v stand alone. fixing you condenser and charging up you a/c system should not be too hard some new o-rings etc. toyotas have great a/c's.

dzrt performance

Hotrodders have been putting stand alone AC in cars for a long time. I've looked at these units before, pretty cool.
Custom Hot Rod A/C Systems for Vintage Cars, Hot Rods...
while I have no doubt this would work....for a little while.....i'd be surprised if they could go the distance in a race. aside from that, with open windows how much cooling do you really expect to gain?