Starlink

pjc

Chairman
Joined
Apr 2, 2001
Posts
20,749
RDC Crypto
3,382
Location
Nevada Territory
Website
www.OutbackUSA.com
Sorry not sure why it didn’t work.

SEC America 6958 DC-DC Battery Charger Input Range of 11-16 VDC Converts to 52VDC Lithium Battery Charger for Charging 48V Batteries from a 12V Automotive Electrical System 1300 Watts Charging Power https://a.co/d/6oNTerR

For some reason the Amazon link is busted. Here is the link outside of the Amazon app



Charger

Mike

Yikes! $$
You have thinking though on the 48v Li bat as the base.
 

MTPyle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
Posts
3,797
RDC Crypto
8,318
Location
Draper UT
Website
www.eleusisdigitalcanvas.com
Yikes! $$
You have thinking though on the 48v Li bat as the base.

Yes. Expensive. I am sure there are cheaper ones. I also assume a simple converter can also get from 10v Input to 48v. You just want double the size you need as these get less effective when max draw. So I would get a 5 amp which is double what they POE uses. If you are needing the antenna heater you can draw up to 4 amp at 48v so I would get a 10amp.

But I like the idea of battery power. To charge a 48v battery bank you need 56v out put. So I am sure there are 56v dc to dc. This works when the batteries have a BMS.


12v to 48v converter

Mike
 
Advertising supports this site

pjc

Chairman
Joined
Apr 2, 2001
Posts
20,749
RDC Crypto
3,382
Location
Nevada Territory
Website
www.OutbackUSA.com
Yes. Expensive. I am sure there are cheaper ones. I also assume a simple converter can also get from 10v Input to 48v. You just want double the size you need as these get less effective when max draw. So I would get a 5 amp which is double what they POE uses. If you are needing the antenna heater you can draw up to 4 amp at 48v so I would get a 10amp.

But I like the idea of battery power. To charge a 48v battery bank you need 56v out put. So I am sure there are 56v dc to dc. This works when the batteries have a BMS.


12v to 48v converter

Mike
All eggzactly!!

I tried the 4amp 12-48 up Buck first. It failed. Now using the 8amp. It runs cooler as well. The final RCKIT will tie the Buck case into the Axia Cage mounts for one Beeg Heatsink.

BTW, it looks like we confirmed the GPS Receiver obstruction issues today.

Now for a few weeks of ESIM testing.
 

Argentino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Posts
611
RDC Crypto
1,065
Location
Vegas
Got my mesh nodes setup. The transition is slow and priority isn't established based on speed. One of the units is bad from the factory. So far, not impressed.
 

MTPyle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
Posts
3,797
RDC Crypto
8,318
Location
Draper UT
Website
www.eleusisdigitalcanvas.com
Got my mesh nodes setup. The transition is slow and priority isn't established based on speed. One of the units is bad from the factory. So far, not impressed.

Pretty much all of the consumer mesh node systems are a complete mess. They help in some ways but dont expect them to handle VOIP transitions or even music streaming. The only system we found that actually works is Ruckus and Access Networks. But those are expensive. Even Ubiguity is a mess and not stable with more than 2 WAP's. We wont do a house unless it has a Ruckus system or better. Every time we do people complain about our systems when its really just a crap network.

Mike
 

Argentino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Posts
611
RDC Crypto
1,065
Location
Vegas
This thing seems to be learning. Mapping like the iRobots and Narwal do. There's a setting for that, actually. It asks you to walk around and it uses your camera to confirm the gps coordinate data.

I just reset it and it picked up the 3rd node. The transitions are getting faster. I'm thinking there are too many nodes too close together. Going to put a node at each corner of the property and see what happens. Centrally locate the main router and then put a node in each corner.

Not sure if you can just grab a node and antenna and go remotely for additional service or not. For instance, take Node 3 and antenna and throw it in the RV while simultaneously having service where the main router and antenna is...
 
Advertising supports this site

Argentino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Posts
611
RDC Crypto
1,065
Location
Vegas
Starlink Logo
Today we ask for your support in ending a lobbying campaign that threatens to make Starlink unusable for you and the vast majority of our American customers.

As recently reported, DISH Network has been hoarding spectrum for years as a strategy for preventing open and fair competition.

Most recently, DISH has been attempting to claim new rights to the 12 GHz band, which is the spectrum you currently use to download content with Starlink. Despite technical studies dating back as far as 2016 that refute the basis of their claims, DISH has employed paid lobbyists who are attempting to mislead the FCC with faulty analysis in hopes of obscuring the truth.

In reality, if DISH gets their way, Starlink customers will experience harmful interference more than 77% of the time and total outage of service 74% of the time, rendering Starlink unusable for most Americans. You can read the details here.

The FCC and your members of Congress have the power to stop this effort, but they need to hear from you.
 

AZ7000'

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Posts
3,396
RDC Crypto
3,184
Location
Flagstaff, AZ
Question…. Say I put a starlink on the motor home, only about 10’ from the garage. Questions would be could it power the Internet in the house via WiFi or could I run a cable to a wireless router inside the house and then use the set up I have now?? On the mh we could then run it on trips and still use it for home.

You guys are way too deep past my understanding on running it on race cars, the mh has solar and 2 golf cart batteries, could I use one starlink for both home and the motor home easily??

Thanks
 

michael.gonzalez

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Posts
6,337
RDC Crypto
2,986
Location
Camarillo, CA
Website
www.facebook.com
Question…. Say I put a starlink on the motor home, only about 10’ from the garage. Questions would be could it power the Internet in the house via WiFi or could I run a cable to a wireless router inside the house and then use the set up I have now?? On the mh we could then run it on trips and still use it for home.

You guys are way too deep past my understanding on running it on race cars, the mh has solar and 2 golf cart batteries, could I use one starlink for both home and the motor home easily??

Thanks
In theory that would work but then your house won't have WiFi if your MOHO is gone.

Get a hardwire from the MOHO Starlink Modem to your home router.
 

Argentino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Posts
611
RDC Crypto
1,065
Location
Vegas
You just buy a mesh router for in your home and they will connect when the RV comes home.

But 10' is going to work regardless.
 
Last edited:

Baja Bryan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Posts
1,488
RDC Crypto
1,362
Location
El Centro, CA
Question…. Say I put a starlink on the motor home, only about 10’ from the garage. Questions would be could it power the Internet in the house via WiFi or could I run a cable to a wireless router inside the house and then use the set up I have now?? On the mh we could then run it on trips and still use it for home.

You guys are way too deep past my understanding on running it on race cars, the mh has solar and 2 golf cart batteries, could I use one starlink for both home and the motor home easily??

Thanks
Antenna cable is pretty long you could put modem in garage. Depeding the size of your house the Modem could work in MH. Also can run cat5 to modem if you get ethernet adaptor from starlink
 
Advertising supports this site

johndjmix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Posts
1,393
RDC Crypto
1,554
Location
Denver, CO
Pretty much all of the consumer mesh node systems are a complete mess. They help in some ways but dont expect them to handle VOIP transitions or even music streaming. The only system we found that actually works is Ruckus and Access Networks. But those are expensive. Even Ubiguity is a mess and not stable with more than 2 WAP's. We wont do a house unless it has a Ruckus system or better. Every time we do people complain about our systems when its really just a crap network.

Mike
I got to disagree on the UBNT equipment. Ive been working with them since they were so small i could call the office and talk to the firmware developer.

Have a unifi system setup in my building in NY, 5 APs around the building. VOIP, streaming, etc...all zero issues....never misses a packet.

--John
 

MTPyle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
Posts
3,797
RDC Crypto
8,318
Location
Draper UT
Website
www.eleusisdigitalcanvas.com
I got to disagree on the UBNT equipment. Ive been working with them since they were so small i could call the office and talk to the firmware developer.

Have a unifi system setup in my building in NY, 5 APs around the building. VOIP, streaming, etc...all zero issues....never misses a packet.

--John

That’s good. I am sure there are plenty of good systems. But when you are moving around it does not work as well. We have put in plenty of them as we keep thinking they will be good, but just have problems. Is it usable yes, is it perfect like Ruckus, no.

Oh and sorry I meant Wifi Calling, not just VOIP. The Verizon Wifi calling is a tough thing to do right on a multi WAP system.

There are people that love ford escorts and some that would not be caught dead driving one.

I was given a complete Luxul system for my house for free. Had it 6 months and put Ruckus in. IMO Luxul Is better than Ubiquity. Most of the systems we do have 20 plus WAP’s.

But if it works for you and you are happy than great, you saved money.

Mike
 

crafty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Posts
323
RDC Crypto
371
Location
colusa ca
The company I work for just got Starlink for my work site. The area I’m working at in Nor Cal has no cell service whatsoever. Starlinks site shows no service for the area I’m in but it works great! Antenna is mounted to the top of a steel conex office building and the router is inside. The service is amazing. All text, email are immediate and calls are clear. I can even stream movies with no delays. I’m impressed with the service and can see the advantages in the off road community
 

Baja Bryan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Posts
1,488
RDC Crypto
1,362
Location
El Centro, CA
Wonder how quick they will have equipment for vehicles. Anyone see true starlink vehicle kits in testing? Not hacked ones. Was going to hack one for prerunnner but might wait now for a system made for cars in motion. Im sure they have prototypes sorted out and production has already begun.
 

Mongosd2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Posts
69
RDC Crypto
39
Location
tucson
On the Mesh side of things, we use a military grade system from Silvus technologies for any thing that moves...most consumer grade stuff wont survive the rigors of off-road racing, but good to see the work being put into this.

On the Starlink side, think about it, they'll have something
 
Advertising supports this site
Top