Straight front axle 2WD ???

michael

OK, I may regret this, but here goes. On a primarily street driven (Chevy) 2WD prerunner, what would be wrong with scraping
the stock A-arms and converting to a straight axle...similar to the race Cherokees. It looks like good
travel would be fairly easy and inexpensive. No camber changes, no scrub, steering issues maybe....any thoughts?
Thanks!

Michael <A target="_blank" HREF=http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.html>http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.html</A>

jeff

I'm not an expert by any means...

And you've probably got a reason... but why not a set of I-beams?

Highspeed handling is better on anything IFS, be it a-arm, beams, anything that isn't just one big solid system.

I too am curious to see what people think about a mono-beam front end. I've ridden in a few old Fords that have the monobeams and they sucked on-road and off.

vwguy

well thats what good aftermarket springpacks are for they are made thin so the have flexibility
but i agree with jeff that i beams would probably be better, cheaper to adapt and get good wheel travel where a arms suck thought cuz stock pivot points leave no room fo improvement without being way wide and thats ugly

Bob_Sheaves

Hi michael,

What you propose is completely do-able, from a technical standpoint. The old Class 7 MJ's (Commanche's) and Class 4 (I think?) XJ's (Cherokee's) (circa 1987-1991) used a 4 link system effectively, BUT there was several issues initially of unsprung weight and harmonics. I am assuming you are not concerned with the NVH of your conversion (NVH=Noise, Vibration, and Harshness). To see a practical application of a "dead" Dana 60 front on a 5 link coil suspension, go to your nearest Dodge dealer and look under a HD 1 ton 4x2 cab and chassis.