Switch Pros

Rock56

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
217
RDC Crypto
27
Location
Mexicali, B.C.
will this work for off road? On a class 8 for example?

SP-8100 8-Switch Panel Power System

tempted to buy a pair of these please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks in advance.
 

_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Posts
907
RDC Crypto
481
Location
Earth
I have seen the product first hand and it a nice product at a fare price. Robert (owner of Switch-Pros) and I spoke at length regarding several next generation software and hardware plans for the product line which will significantly improve the product from its current state. If these changes do come to fruition, they will be worth waiting for.

Two of these in a class-8 would be a very cost effective method of going away from circuit breakers, relays and toggle switches, provided the components have the durability to survive in a true off-road race vehicle.

Be warned, these units need to dissipate a tremendous amount of heat and this will need to be considered when selecting a mounting location.
 

Rock56

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
217
RDC Crypto
27
Location
Mexicali, B.C.
I have seen the product first hand and it a nice product at a fare price. Robert (owner of Switch-Pros) and I spoke at length regarding several next generation software and hardware plans for the product line which will significantly improve the product from its current state. If these changes do come to fruition, they will be worth waiting for.

Two of these in a class-8 would be a very cost effective method of going away from circuit breakers, relays and toggle switches, provided the components have the durability to survive in a true off-road race vehicle.

Be warned, these units need to dissipate a tremendous amount of heat and this will need to be considered when selecting a mounting location.

Thanks a lot for your quick and objective response. We will go ahead with the purchase and try to find the ideal location and "heat protection" for the units.
 

_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Posts
907
RDC Crypto
481
Location
Earth
Rock,
Not sure how soon you plan to start your wiring. But, I suggest inquiring from Robert when units with the new connector interface will be available in addition to new programming options. He had a few 1st run units when I was there last, and Robert implied units for sale to the public were not to far out in the future. The new interface connector will be an advantage over the current interface for serious off-road applications.
 

Rock56

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
217
RDC Crypto
27
Location
Mexicali, B.C.

lem111

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Posts
131
RDC Crypto
15
Location
garden grove ca
I am also interested, but I haven't had any luck getting ahold of anyone over there. I will try again tomorrow.
 

_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Posts
907
RDC Crypto
481
Location
Earth
They are probably at the PRI show in Indy. Wait until the show is over and everyone has had a chance to return to their offices.
 

motoxscott

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
Posts
1,240
RDC Crypto
299
Location
Huntington Beach, CA (SoCal)
We've used a few of these for some recent builds we've done. The functionality and simplicity of them are great for the price range they fall into. Great for UTV's, trail rigs and simpler prerunners. Their new stuff if all goes well should break into the more serious prerunner and race market. Hope to run that in my Bronco and the current stuff in my chase truck.

- Scott
 

KiwiMike

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Posts
65
RDC Crypto
3
Location
Florida
Are these compatible with ECM's? E.g. The ECM is used to currently close a relay for fans. With a override toggle switch to turn the fans on for a cool down.
So can it accept a ECM trigger?


Sent from the RDC Mobile App. Get it for your IOS device today
 

y2kbaja

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2004
Posts
2,963
RDC Crypto
1,503
Location
Sacramento, CA
6 switch touch panel

Surfing for a less expensive switch panel alternative I found this. I only need on/off switches for lights and gps stuff. And all my switches work of relays so the 10amp load is suitable. Anyone have thoughts or experience with this?
 

Rock56

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
217
RDC Crypto
27
Location
Mexicali, B.C.
i have read about switch pros but i think it won't suit my application since it only has 1 relay that holds up to 30 amps, the fans of my radiator are rated at 19 amps each and the 3 oil coolers are rated at 15 it will be overloaded for my truck
 

motoxscott

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
Posts
1,240
RDC Crypto
299
Location
Huntington Beach, CA (SoCal)
little update as I talked to Switch Pros yesterday. They've updated their standard SP8100 now with one external trigger input that can be used to control up to two of the circuits. (ie. temp sender to trigger fans to come on automatically).

They are still in the works on the more powerful unit but that is at least 6-12 months out as they are still refining and plan on adding functions to the version they have now.

I ordered up two units for my Bronco, I'll let you know how it goes.

-Scott
 

Mark Newhan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Posts
4,568
RDC Crypto
2,597
Location
Lakeside, ca.
little update as I talked to Switch Pros yesterday. They've updated their standard SP8100 now with one external trigger input that can be used to control up to two of the circuits. (ie. temp sender to trigger fans to come on automatically).

They are still in the works on the more powerful unit but that is at least 6-12 months out as they are still refining and plan on adding functions to the version they have now.

I ordered up two units for my Bronco, I'll let you know how it goes.

-Scott

Love these things.
 

MikeLeung

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Posts
3,074
RDC Crypto
237
Location
Tucson AZ
Top