The 50’ Pit Rule

summerinmaine

Reaction
I’m not a racer, but have worked various pits in the Baja races (2-3/year) over the past six years, and never at fixed locations like the big groups (Honda, BFG, Baja Pits/Locos Mocos, and the like) so I have some experience in pit selection/location that may be relevant to the issue of the SCORE rule GPT8, which states: “All pits must be at least fifty feet (50’) off the edge of the race course.”

I know RG got hammered by SCORE for violation of this rule, and in my view SCORE’s hands were tied in terms of enforcement for many reasons and RG was blatantly attempting (unsuccessfully) to game a perceived loophole in the rules, but I agree that the rule as stated is routinely violated, and as a practical matter strict enforcement would likely be impossible, or would limit stationary pits to a minuscule portion of the typical Baja race course and a very limited set of standard locations. Ask yourselves as racers how many places you know that would permit a 50’ separation from the course, coupled with adequately safe/practical pit ingress/egress.

In the last two 500s, we were at Punta Cabras and able to secure a location that fully complied with the rule. Here’s a couple of pics:

The track you see in front of us is the westernmost of three threads off the course, which is the far left hand track in this pic (beyond the apparent track and over the berm), and was about 30 meters from our pit:

But at the last 1000, we were in an extremely safe location:

but probably not 50’ off the course as you can see from this pic:

And in numerous earlier races, there was no location within 10 miles either way that would have permitted 50’ separation (and a 20 mile variation on pit location would have been a nightmare for the bikes we also routinely pit), yet we were still able to find relatively safe locations:

And how many of the pits that routinely set up at Rancho El Coyote are 50' off the course?