• Forum membership has its advantages....

Thinking about the Parkhouse accident thread

Dezertpilot

Didn't want to comment in that thread as it wasn't the right area to talk about it. It has me thinking, I know that getting t-boned by another off road racer is probably pretty low vs other crash situations in racing. I am also aware that vehicles are built to a pretty high standard in regards to safety, but will builders now think a little more side impact collisions in their builds? I'm not sure what else could be done safety wise as I am not an engineer but I was thinking couldn't something like a "blanket" be applied to the sides of cars for this reason? This would be of similar material to bullet proof vests, the soft variety and how the material gives to absorb the bullet? I could be way off in my thinking but I'm sure no one wants to go through this type of accident in the future.

y2kbaja

As we're thinking about race vehicles that have been in accidents let's not forget this isn't new. Larry Deaton was T-boned in Laughlin in 1999 or 2000. He was driving a Chenowth Millenium. Standards haven't been changed really since then.

This accident in Baja could have been avoided more than likely but it wasn't. We should be thankful it happened ON the highway and NEAR chase crews that were able to help otherwise it could have been worse.

Dezertpilot

As we're thinking about race vehicles that have been in accidents let's not forget this isn't new. Larry Deaton was T-boned in Laughlin in 1999 or 2000. He was driving a Chenowth Millenium. Standards haven't been changed really since then.

This accident in Baja could have been avoided more than likely but it wasn't. We should be thankful it happened ON the highway and NEAR chase crews that were able to help otherwise it could have been worse.
I agree 100%. I dont know the history of this type of accident occurring but thought that discussion could never hurt either.

Bro_Gill