TIG welding in the summer

FabioP

Summer is coming and I just started practicing TIG welding. How do you guys deal with the summer heat? Can I use a fan blowing air to me? Will that mess up the gas shield? What do you guys do?

RyanWiW

Dress as light as you can and drink lots of water. A fan will interrupt your gas shield if it is blowing directly on you.

Demp

#mikesson
Stay hydrated, maybe weld for shorter times and take breaks!

DougRobinson

Welding in the summertime SUCKS. Last summer it hit 110+ in Norco one day. The air was so hot having a fan on me just made me sweat more. It was actually cooler outside than in the shop.

Chase 2

TIG welding in the summer is for little girls. Try Fluxcore/Innershield or stick with tons of hot spatter flying everywhere and you have to wear leather jacket or more, now that's hot!!!!

Samco Fab

Like Chase said, mig or arc are much worse, then you have to wear tons of leather and gear, where TIG you wear tennis shoes and a t shirt, and just worry about a sunburn.

This last summer, one of our weld stations is next to a west facing steel door, it got to be 140 degrees radiating off of that door in the afternoon.

We went to Lowes and got a patio mister kit and rigged it up outside and above the door to wet the door and evaporate. It lowered the door temp from 140 degrees to 60, and made the area bearable to work in.

I tried one of those big swamp coolers, and it just made my shop humid and hot. What are the tricks to making one of those big swamp coolers work good?

Dezertpilot

Like Chase said, mig or arc are much worse, then you have to wear tons of leather and gear, where TIG you wear tennis shoes and a t shirt, and just worry about a sunburn.

This last summer, one of our weld stations is next to a west facing steel door, it got to be 140 degrees radiating off of that door in the afternoon.