to start fabricating?

PBC_Tacoma_Kid

Reaction
Ok well ive decided im really serious about having my truck built but dont want to pay giant sums of money for someone to do it. I want to starting fabricating for myself but not quite sure where to start, I thought about taking some classes at the local JC but the stuff I will learn doesnt seem what I want to know, I have already taken basic welding classes when i was in highschool but thats about it, I have lots of experience with wood working and construction so im good at building stuff. So do I just get tools and mess around or anyone have some suggestions? I know guys like fish just started like that and are getting pretty good at it. If so what do i need? Mig welder, tube bender and some dies, notcher, saw, maybe a oxytorch? im guessing ill need 2000 dollars or less to get started? I hope this post makes sense, How did all of you guys get started that fabricate? Any help is much appreciated,
Thanks
Brandon

1992f150

Reaction
The main problem will be trying to design the front suspension.

Azusa: shame of the foothills

PBC_Tacoma_Kid

Reaction
actually i didnt mention i will probably buy a arms built, mostly want to to do rear shocks and bedcage, then eventually full cage, a arms would be too much for me,

Kritter

Krittro Campbell
Reaction
I think 2k is a good start. I would start with bumpers. I would wait to do cages for a while though. If you do it wrong and you think it's right, it could cost you your life. Practice with cheaper materials until you get good.

Kris
"I was thinking the exact same thing about you..."

ntsqd

Reaction