TORC Heads to the 'Big House" of Off-Road Racing...Crandon

Mary Kay

TORC Heads to the 'Big House" of Off-Road Racing...Crandon

Crandon, WI (June 3, 2009)—Following four explosive west coast rounds, The Traxxas TORC Truck Series presented by AMSOIL heads to the "Big House" in Crandon, Wisconsin. TORC's June 20-21 race weekend at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway opens the special 40th Anniversary season at the legendary track.

The Crandon Brush Run race weekend will feature the 16th running of the Forest County Potawatomi Chairman's Cup race. "Every off-road racer in the country wants their name on one of the three Crandon Cups," said TORC co-owner Ricky Johnson. "I am excited both as a racer and a promoter, to be bringing short course back to Crandon this year."

Fresh off his first podium finish of 2009 in Perris, California, PRO 2WD Champion Dan Vanden Heuvel will make his 31st Crandon start. Defending BorgWarner Shootout Champion Scott Taylor will take to the punishing 1.5 mile track along with Rockstar Drivers Rob MacCachren and Todd LeDuc. Seven-time Supercross Champion Jeremy McGrath will make his first career start at Crandon in the Amsoil PRO2WD class.

The Kumho Tire PRO4x4 class is packed with several past winners of the Brush Run. Power house Johnny Greaves, who won in both 2003 and 2006, will battle it out with AMSOIL'S Scott Douglas, and 1994 Brush Run Winner, Curt LeDuc. Monster Energy driver and points leader, Rick Huseman will attempt to continue his winning streak in the PRO 4x4 class. Huseman, who is leading with the most Oakley Bomb Run Awards for fastest lap time of the race, is the driver to beat in 2009.

Fast Facts
The Race: Crandon, Wisconsin
The Date: Saturday, June 20th and Sunday, June 21st.
The Track: Crandon International Off-Road Raceway
The Time: 10 a.m.
TV: ESPN2, June 28, 2009 (12:30 p.m. ET)
Radio: and Tracking
Schedule: Saturday and Sunday- Practice, 9:00-10:00 a.m., Races start 10:30 a.m.
Track Contact: Allison Morrow
2009 Top 3 Drivers:
PRO Light 1-
4 x4-

Past Brush Run Winners:
2008 Kent Brascho
2007 Carl Renezeder
2006 Johnny Greaves
2005 Josh Baldwin
2004 Carl Renezeder
2003 Johnny Greaves
2002 Scott Taylor (only 2-wheel drive winner)
2001 Rob MacCachren
2000 Rob MacCachren
1999 Jack Flannery
1998 Jamey Flannery
1997 Jack Flannery
1996 Curt LeDuc
1995 Rob MacCachren
1994 Curt LeDuc

Crandon 101: Highlights
Crandon International Off-Road Raceway is located one mile (1.6 km) west of Crandon, Wisconsin on U.S. Route 8. The original off-road track was 1.75 miles (2.82 km). Shortly after, the track was shortened to 1.5 miles (2.4 km). In 2002, a shortcut through the track was installed to allow a 1.25 mile (2.01 km) long lap. The change allows spectators to see the entire track, and it is utilized for selected events. A well known aspect to the Crandon races is the “land-rush start”. Vehicles are lined up at the start line side-by-side, when the track goes green it’s full throttle to see who can come out of turn one in the lead.

Crandon International Off-Road Raceway, Off-Road's Big House, Where Champions are crowned. Tickets for the June 20-21 TORC race weekend at Crandon are $30. More information is available at or

The Traxxas TORC Series—The Off-Road Championship, presented by AMSOIL is the world's premier short course off road series. TORC drivers push the limits with 900 horsepower, actionpacked fender pounding on challenging natural terrain racetracks. The 2009 season schedule includes stops in Texas, California, Nevada, Michigan, and Wisconsin. For more information on TORC please visit


Well-Known Member
Can't wait, heading up Friday night. Taking my 6 y/o sold for the first time. Should be a good Fathers Day weekend.