Toyota Lockers?

SByota

Has anyone out there used the Lock-Rite, EZ locker, or similar product. My truck has the stock V6 and will be spinning 33's. I would like to get a Tru Trac or electric locker but the damn money problem just keeps getting in the way. BTW 1990 Toyota 4x4 with stock 8in rear with factory 4:56 gears. Any thoughts?

Curtis Guise

Administrator
before I sold my 1990 V6 truck I put a locker in the rear. I bought a TRD locker, but what they shipped was a lock-rite. I was dissapointed that they advertised it as their own, but I put it in and it worked for years. The only thing with a locker like that is it can act funny on the street sometimes.

orvacian

I have the exact same truck you do and I have been running a detroit for several years. I would never want another truck without one. It has never done anything weird on the street or the dirt. I don't notice any extra tire wear at all either.

Curtis Guise

Administrator
when I said it acted funny it would make a large click or bang sometimes in a corner or if you got on the gas out of a corner. (not very often) But maybe that is only the Lock-rite because I had another truck with one years ago and it did the same thing.

SpitDirtCom

JD FAB

My loc - rite does that same thing. Its been in my truck for about 5 years and have not had any problems at all.

cleartoy

Ive been using a Lock Right in mine for a year now, and it does its job in the sand! Im used to its behavior on the street.
In the parking lots or cul de sacs, i just put it in neutral and coast. Otherwise it will buck violently and scrub tires. Likewise if im making a right turn on a street with some water on it, i take it easy so as not to slide out or spin out if there are cars there that is. If its safe, i nail the throttle and hang it way out. Done 360s before.

SuperDave

Hi Brad,