• Forum membership has its advantages....

Traxxas 12T 550 Motor Break In

ltr450rider

Just picked up a new motor and have read a few different ways about "breaking in" the motor. One method was submerging the motor under water and running for 3 minutes? I have a hard time understanding how an electric motor is supposed to run underwater, my sarcasm senses were tingling reading this thinking this was good prank to get some less educated folks to ruin a new part, but I am not an expert, so I figured I'd check in the internet experts here for advice.

Break in the new motor, methods? Or just install it and run it? Light duty heat cycles?

ltr450rider

Is there a reason why you wouldn't just squirt little bit of light mineral oil on the brushes for the same effect?

Traxxas website says to do some light duty driving for the 1st run of the battery pack. No hard pulls, braking, or reverse.

Attachments

Last edited:

michael.gonzalez

I don't think you want to lubricate the brushes necessarily.
You want to wear them into the commutator. The water serves as a sink for the particles produced from the wear/break-in.

Much like running gear oil for the first 500 miles of a ring and pinion gear set on a truck and then dumping all the "break-in" fluid which has not so good stuff in it.

9five9

I smoked a Titan 12t by trying to use oil.

If you haven't done anything yet, Install the motor, and break it in by slowly rolling on/off the throttle for the duration of your first battery pack charge. an open parking lot is the best place

Big Hock

Bababooey!!!
I’ve run every traxxas I’ve ever had at full speed right out of the box with no issues. I thought that was the whole point of Traxxas?

9five9

Break-in is only recommended for brushed motors.

Modern brushless motors need no such break-in procedure.