Trigger Welding

MH20

RDC Crypto
I've been seeing more and more "Trigger Welding" (series of spot welds) around and was just wondering the professional opinion on it. I've played around with it a little bit and it looks good and I seem to get enough penetration, but are there any advantages or side effects? Should it only be used for certain applications or metal thicknesses?

ntsqd

RDC Crypto
Where are you seeing it used ?
Control arms ?
Body seams ?
Fab'd dashes ?

ESE_DIEZ

RDC Crypto
I have been told that its as strong as a continuous bead but others have said the exact opposite. I am a welder and we do production type welds that are continuous beads mainly for speed(as fast as we can weld em and still be within a 10th of an inch), but as far as what is stronger, I would like to know this too.

JCampbell

"1" time champ
RDC Crypto
MH20,I 've been asked this more times than i can count and my true answer is that the welds are plenty strong . I've built alot of cars out of Penhall's and have yet to have a weld crack or break under normal racing conditions ,A few of the cars we've built have been wrecked in the past and never have seen any real failures in the qualitiy of the welds. If you have the welder set on proper heat and wire speed settings the trigger weld will penetrate as good as a continuous pattern weld.Plus trigger welds look PRETTY! I do mig most of our chasiss mainly because of the time and cost it would be to tig a complete chasiss.Usually I tig all steering,susp,and most of the detailed parts of the car
JAMIE CAMPBELL PENHALL FAB

G

Thanks Jamie, thats the response I was looking for.

Anyone else have opinions on the subject?

dezerts10

BANG!! BANG!!
RDC Crypto
isnt is awsome how the person who would know the most about a particular situation can respond to the matter. All thanks to RDC. awsome job klaus john and the other guys who brought us RDC thanks

Gregg