Tubing fabrication costs?? PLEASE HELP

Mason M.

Reaction
Hello, so I'm fairly new to this style of truck mods, I have a plan and estimate of costs on everything I want to do. I'm in contact with a local shop that can do some of the work for me.
Specifically replacing the bed with tubing. They gave me a rough number of 15gs (that was on the high end). I would be running a 4 linked susp. with coils and bypasses, and relocating the fuel cell. That's just to give yall an idea of some of the things on the to do list. Does this 15gs sound right?? Where I'm from the desert long travel and pre runner life style virtually
doesn't exist. Now granted the shop knows what these builds are about, their involved in racing themselves and not just in a hobby sense. All I'm doing here is making sure I'm not getting
ripped off. I genuinely have no clue what abouts I should be expecting to pay.

Thanks in advance for any help!

calstyl2

Reaction
Have them show you some of their work, there are shops who do great looking work with no function and shops that build the ultimate off road vehicles, Pre runner or race vehicle. 15G without parts, just labor is possible, but low.
You want it done right you find people like Velasco, Stewart, or Newman

BHollander

Reaction
From the owner of a very small fab shop I will say $15k does not go far to properly build or link the rear of a truck. Depending on tubing 4130 or DOM, mig or tig, links, proper cycling geometry, rearend, heims, shocks, bumps, fuel cell, and that stuff adds up quickly then throw labor on top. You could be $20k+ just in parts no labor.
Rearend between $1k-$15k
Shocks and bumps $3k-$6k
Fuel cell $2k-$7k
Heims $1k
tubing/plate $1k-$3k
driveline $500
plumbing $500
trailing arms $2k-$6k
Labor $10k-$15k depending on mig or tig
this is assuming you have a good cage to tie into.

If I did my math correctly I would say on the absolute low end it will be north of $20k. More than likely close to $30k. Just my .02.