tungsten splitting issues

mikeyfrombc

Reaction
was practising on SS tonite and was switching back and forth between a 1/16 red tip and a 1/16 orange tip to see if there was any difference is weld quality and such and while sharpening the orange tip it looked funny like it had a some SS laminated to the tungsten as it kept getting a purpleish blue line on the tip , i go to shorten the tungsten a 1/4 inch or so and i notice the tungsten has split down the center anyone experiance this before it was a brand new tungsten and i never used more then 60amps

mikeyfrombc

Reaction
Never heard of it before, but I've never used the orange before. . .I've used red, green, brown, and gold.

orange is 2% cereated ( spelling ) supposed to be good for any material so i thought i,d try it , with the red i've never had issues

punchdrunk monkey

Reaction
Sorry for the hijack....
....I just started having the same problem with my TIG. My tungsten is splitting while welding alum. I'm using a red tungsten, 100% argon, 1/8" alum, Miller Syncowave 200. It only happend every-so-often????

Chase 2

Reaction
Tungsten tips typically split from extended use at higher amps. Going the next size up will help if it is creating problems.

I think the OP is saying that while sharpening his tungsten it was showing signs of SS contamination. Unless he had the "dippity does", with straight polarity, there shouldn't be any contamination or material transfer from the work to the tungsten. (I am assuming that he's not trying to weld SS with AC). The purple color while grinding seems to me to be saying that it is getting too hot without being protected by a shielding gas as he grinds.

Tungsten is quite brittle, its possible that he got a bad/damaged one and it has nothing to do with technique. It could be something as simple as the tungsten was dropped.

tmathews

Reaction
I have seem some problems with import tungsten.. I.e. made in China.

tmathews

Reaction
Sorry for the hijack....