UTI--Good??Bad??Anything??

spalind

Reaction
No, not a urinary tract infection but Universal Technical Institute...given it has more west coast locations than East Coast I figure I'd ask here. Anyone with any first or second hand experience to relate? Thanks.

Demp

#mikesson
Reaction
I wouldn't waste my time, you'll be $15,000-30,000 in the whole when its over. I was taught by my Dad and as well as self taught. I got a job at a Honda dealership on the lube rack ( Express Change ) 3 months later I was a Flat rate tech working heavy line. Working 4 days a week and making around $ 60,000 a year at 19 years old. I was R&R'ing engines and transmissions and basic services. Now I work at Kia's Corporate HQ in the Product Quality Dept. dealing with everything from Prototypes all the way to mass production. I've known other techs who went to UTI, and they hated it. Your best bet is to become a Shop Forman Assistant or start doing oil changes and work your way up. Your wallet and bank account will thank you.

Last edited:

randy68

#1 Enemy of Google
Reaction
Ditto on Demps post, there's not substitute for experiance in my opinion.
I'd (and I do) much rather hire someone, even with little or none, that's
willing and capable to learn and work.

JEFFRPM

Non Sugar Coated
Reaction
I agree the school is a waste get in a dealership starting out as a lube man or installing alarms,sterios,bedliners etc then work your way up I started out in 1977 doing pre delivery inspections or PDI'S for short then I was moved to NVH or noise vibration harshness repair [ford's had a lot of NVH in those days] you guys have it easy now days do any of you know what a variable ventury carb is or a MCU ignition system is how about EEC3 feedback carburetor. Now days you plug in a diagnastic device to a port that is located where the federal gov says to put it and you pull a code and replace a defective part WOOHOO what a b! tch:mad:

Demp

#mikesson
Reaction