What is the best tire for a buggy

AZOffroad

Reaction
I'm looking for some advice, I have a 1.6 liter buggy with a four speed, and I race it in a Desert series. Buggy weighs about 1500lb and has about 95 HP. I'm currently running BFG 215/75 R15 MT KM2's. I'm not having very good luck with the BFG's. Every race I either cut a sidewall or have a flat. I was thinking of trying the 30/7.0 15 or 33/9.0 15 Mickey T's Baja Pro, I run 15x7 aluminum wheel with OMF beadlocks, or any other suggestions????

I'm new to desert racing so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

MikeLeung

Reaction
Your car is pretty close to a 1600...and I have raced on all the tires. And the best is Centerline rims...no beadlocks...with Yoko Super Diggers

MikeLeung

Reaction
Agreed. Yokohama for sure. BTR wheels, no beadlock is my preference. I have a pile of bent up centerlines in my back yard.
Yeah Centerlines bend...but the hardly ever break.

...hey Patrick..I sent you a PM a while ago...whats the history of your 5-1600...It looks like my friends old 5-1600 that I used to race.

sidekicker

RIP Lusk & Ox
Reaction
yokohama with kmc rims it look so sick we use at baja 500

M.Harvey1600

Reaction
definitely go with yokohama super diggers... i used 2 b a huge BFG fan but i never liked the way my car works with BFG's on it... as far as wheels go i currently run centerlines but im n the process of switching to BTRs cause i have heard a lot of great things about the rims... but almost n e tire if u hit sumthin hard enough to get a flat ur gonna knock the air out of any tire...

A BRAND NAME ISNT GONNA SCARE A ROCK AWAY!!!

I'd stay away from the Mickey Thompsons... they have a weak sidewall...

M.Harvey1600

Reaction

sidekicker

RIP Lusk & Ox
Reaction

Forty1Racing

Reaction
I don't know what kind of tires my buddys 1600 car had on it but, his KMC wheels sure did take a beating! After all the beating of his terrible driving... they still looked pretty good. :D

offroadracer516

Reaction