• Forum membership has its advantages....

What is the cheapest truck to build into a prerunner

Jakob Hinkle

This is my first post so sorry if I'm doing something wronge here also I did search this up but didn't find anything. I'm a college student and have been saveing for a truck for awhile and am now in the position to buy a truck and slowly turn it into a prerunner. I know doing this won't be cheap but I know things like long travel suspensions will be cheaper for one truck versus another. I grew up rock crawling a Cherokee in Moab but have never really been around off-road raceing so I am not very knowledgeable as if now but this is something I want/ am going to do, any help would be appreciated thanks.

A half finished beamed ranger, preferably already caged (usually the biggest expense). Pre96 toyotas are pretty cheap too if you can find one already with a kit and cage

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

J Prich

What does your budget look like? And what kind of fab skills do you have?

Best bet in my opinion is to start with the furthest built truck you can afford. Always cheaper in the long run to buy something that's already built than to build from scratch so based on your budget, I'd look for a Toyota (I'm biased...) or a Ranger that's already got as much done as you can afford. Then you can slow roll the rest as you are able to save.

Either way, in my opinion the best bang for your buck is a Toyota or Ranger type truck. Tons of aftermarket options available for each, easy to build piece by piece as your budget allows, etc. You can check out how we built our Toyota on our FB page...daily driver Tacoma to race truck in about 18 months.

ChrisW