What kind of shocks?

South Tx Racer

I am completely new to desert racing. I have a truck that myself and a friend want to run in the stock full/8100 class in BITD and SCORE. We have the know how of building stuff (engines, welding, ect) but are clueless as to what kind of shocks to use. The truck is a 2000 Chevy 3500. I have never built a truck for racing and dont know what size, brand, length or type of shock to buy. Our goal is the baja 1000 but we are going to start with some short races to get our feet wet and learn a few years before we jump into that. Any and all help would be appreciated as far as stock class info as well as the shocks.

Jerry Zaiden

First off I would not start with a 2000 Chevy 3500 for the stock full class. I would look in the classifieds and find a good used truck already built. But make sure it has FOX Racing Shox :)

Jerry's right, no matter how much you pour into a bad platorm, you will not attain the desired results.

And you can almost guarantee that any homebuild will end up costing more than buying a used race vehicle in terms of time, effort and money.

And Full Stock can be a very expensive class in which to compete, when one considers how many stock parts must be replaced after each and every event, if not during.

If you really want to race, join an existing team first to learn the ropes.

It's the wisest "investment" one can make as an off road racer.

Go take a look at some full-stock buildups before you do anything else.

There's a lot of work to be done, with a commensurate big budget.

texasag02

All great advice. Come out to the TDRA event in Notrees, TX in April and I am sure any of the racing teams would give you an insight into their vehicles. Welcome to desert racing!

loufish

I would recommend heading to some races and see what others are doing, what equipment is being run and when the time is right (not during the heat of the actual race) talk to a few guys running the class you are thinking about running...