What to look for and what to avoid when shopping for a VW Bug???

atomicjoe23

Reaction
Hey guys,

I'm thinking of building a bug. . .I found one in a local junkyard (no engine, but the transaxle, a trailing arm version I believe vs the swingaxle type, is there and the body is complete and dent free, I think it's just one of those the owner wanted to get rid of it and couldn't sell it type deals, but I won't know for sure until I go look at it again) and I think I can get it for a steal.

I'm pretty sure it's a pre-'71 (IIRC it's a '68, but at the time I saw it I wasn't looking for a bug so I didn't pay a whole lot of attention to it. . .go figure).

So if I am new to VW Bugs what should I look for and/or what should I look to avoid when buying a bug?

I know that the pre-'71 model years are preferred since they don't use MacPherson struts and that there is supposed to be more aftermarket support for the king-pin (link-pin?) front-ends than the '66 and later ball joint front ends.

I've been reading "Baja Bugs & Buggies" by Jeff Hibbard so I'm learning about the bugs ahead of time, but it seems like this might be a good way to make an affordable, but fun recreational desert vehicle. . .I just have to keep myself from going off the deep-end too fast (a tendency I have had in the past. . .and vehicles will sit unrealized for a long period of time. . .something I want to avoid, by starting with a simpler, more affordable style of vehicle right off the bat).

Thanks for the help and pointers!

Baja4Autism

Reaction
Go to class11coaliton.com it'll answer all your questions for Class 11 cars. If your looking more towards 5/1600 you may be better off reading the CRUMCO thread. If your looking towards Class 5, just find a reputable fabricator and open your checkbook. If you do stumble over to class11coalition, King Dave is the man, and Dennis Sleten is very well versed too. Their both regulars on the site.

atomicjoe23

Reaction