What to look for when buying a class 5

treypal

I am looking at buying a class 5 for racing in the new Texas races. We are headed to Cali in November for the 1000, so we hope to find a car by then, so we can haul it back to Texas with us. I have found a few class 5s on here that look like good deals, but I am new to this so I am not 100% sure what I am looking at.

Any suggestion for things that I should make sure the car has/doesn't have?

Thanks for your help.

MikeLeung

What to look for when buying a Class 5...hum...a removable body so it can be converted to a Score Lite.

treypal

I think everyone in Texas is running 5 unlimited, but there isnt anything too crazy there. The one I am really interested in is a 5 unlimited.

Rory

Crayola Killer
I'd say a good history on the car. What kind of Chassis? Transmission (091, 002, Mendeola, Fortin) and is it fresh? Motor, who built it, when was the last time it was gone through? Fodrill front trailing arms? King Combo's? Rear Hubs (stubs, Micro stubs, midboard CV's, outboard CV's)? Front hubs (CNC, ProAM, stock)? Fuel cell? Wheel base, very important....I believe class 5 is limited to 105" or less, beyond that it is illegal. Spares? Radio? GPS? Intercom? General craftsmanship of the vehicle. Thats what i would look for. If it's a good chassis and you can get it pretty cheap, everything else can be bought.....but can be VERY expensive. My .02.

PRECEPTS

Couple of things I would look for; 1) Check for bump steer! There are several cars out there that have a real problem with this. 2) Is it SCORE tagged and legal? That is important if ever want to race SCORE and for resale. 3) I know this going to be an agrument here but I would stay away from a busbox transmission. 4) Look for a car with coil carriers and bypass' on all fours, stay away from torsion bars.
The best car out there for sale right now is Jim Varshays' car, it won't be cheap but at least you will get a proven car. My 2 cents worth, I will bill you.

5racer