where to drive in socal

gil_caz

Reaction
Hey guys im kinda new to the whole off road scene.... ive rode dirtbikes for years but i recently got me a predator x-18.

i basically know about hodge road and outlet center drive.

any other places you guys could recommend to a guy trying to find fun terrain in my buggy?

(added pics cause i know if there's no photos it didnt happen)

Attachments

Reaction
Ocotillo, Plaster City, Glamis, nowhere in RivCo.

BGRANT

Reaction
If you go to any of these places at this time of year go very early (before sunrise) or late at night and bring a LOT of water. It's gonna be HOT!

gil_caz

Reaction
thanks guys for the responses... i have been getting out to barstow(hodge rd) around 8am, taking a run then cooling off for a few hours, then going out again for a short pass to slash x cafe, and back.

i think my next trip will be out to ocotillo, then ill be back to glamis one the season comes around again.

bomber

Reaction
You should try doing the trip from Ocotillo Wells to Superstition. Can't remember how many miles round trip, but it's a fun ride.

gil_caz

Reaction
You should try doing the trip from Ocotillo Wells to Superstition. Can't remember how many miles round trip, but it's a fun ride.
would anyone happen to have a google earth file of it? this sounds like a fun trip.

bomber

Reaction
would anyone happen to have a google earth file of it? this sounds like a fun trip.
I think I remember seeing one on either here or dezertrangers.com awhile ago. I unfortunately do not have one ready, but you can follow the train tracks from Plaster City heading north until the tracks veer NW and you stay on the pole line road that heads N. This will get you pretty far on Google Earth, but then you have to put the rest together yourself ;).

If someone has done it and has a better description help this guy out haha. It's been many years since I did the trip, but it was a lot of fun and can be done in all types and levels of off-road vehicles.