2013 Baja Aragón Super Special Stage – race-deZert.com

2013 Baja Aragón Super Special Stage

Baja number 30 takes its start

Nani Roma, Joan Barreda, Mario Gajón, Miguel Valero et Manuel Borrero have clinched the victory in Super Special Stage.

Baja Aragón 2013 took its start today from Teruel to race along the Super Special Stage, that decides the starting order for the following day.

Joan Barreda was fastest in the motorcycle class at Baja Aragon

Joan Barreda, who this morning showed his “willingness” to participate in this event, which he considers “really important in the calendar”; was first in the motorcycle class. At his arrival, he claimed “very happy to be the first tomorrow and open the tracks”. After him, José Manuel Pellicer and Jordi Viladoms were second and first, followed by ex trial driver Dani Oliveras. Aragonese Mario Gajón, seventh overall, was the fastest quad.

Nani Roma takes the fastest time at stage 1 of Baja Aragon

Among cars, the fastest was Spanish Nani Roma, following his declared objective of being “a new victory in Baja Spain”. For the moment he will take his start tomorrow avoiding the other drivers dust, an advantage he will surely benefit from. Even though he finished today ahead of his team mate Stéphane Peterhansel, he will have to continue to beat him to accumulate time. Third was Orlando Terranova, who closed a podium fully taken by X-Raid Mini cars; while fourth was another team mate: Holowczyc. First Spanish driver was Jordi Gaig, in eighth.

Manuel Borrero took the fastest time in the truck class
Manuel Borrero took the fastest time in the truck class

In buggies, Miguel Valero was the first to the finish line; while Isidre Esteve, who celebrates the first anniversary of his comeback to the competition was fourth. Manuel Borrero clinched the victory in the trucks category, followed by Jo Adua, last year´s champion.

This morning, the presentation of the event took place; and also the celebration of the 30th anniversary. A representation of the drivers, lead by Nani Roma, Stéphane Peterhansel, Joan Barreda and Jean-Louis Schlesser, delivered a special birthday cake to Mr. Carlos Gracia, President of the Spanish Cars Federation; Manuel Blasco, Teruel´s Major; and some other authorities; who blew out the candles.

More than 140 vehicles will take the start today. Cars at 08:30 and motorcycles at 09:45; to face more than 350 kilometers.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *