Online voting open–2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year awards

December 22, 2020

Voting until Wednesday, Dec. 30

Online voting for 2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards
Open now for 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship

voting online for eight 2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards

Virtual SCORE Awards Night to be held in late January, 2021   

ENSENADA, Baja California, Mexico—Online voting has begun for the 2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards and will continue until midnight on Wednesday, Dec. 30, officials of the SCORE World Desert Championship announced today.
     Having completed 47 years as the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Organization, SCORE International has eight annual SCORE Off-Roadsman Award winners selected by online voting on the home page of the SCORE website at which opened today and will close at midnight next Wednesday. 
     Five additional SCORE Off-Roadsman categories, including Original Chassis Builder of the Year and Engine Builder of the Year are determined by a special points system. The SCORE Person of the Year Award is selected by a SCORE committee as is the SCORE Legacy Award.
     Winners of the public voting will be honored in late January during a virtual SCORE Awards Night which celebrates the pandemic-abbreviated 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship.
     This is the 10th year that SCORE has used open online voting to determine the award winners. Prior to that, the winners were selected by way of a vote conducted solely with SCORE members.
     Here are the official voting lists of finalists for the 2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards…

2020 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Finalists

SCORE Contingency Company of the Year

  • Baja Designs
  • BFGoodrich Tires
  • Raceline Wheels
  • Weddle Industries

SCORE Pit Support Team of the Year

  • Baja Pits
  • BFGoodrich Tires
  • Checkers Off-Road
  • Mag 7

SCORE Mechanic of the Year

  • Daniel Curie, Monster Energy Can-Am Racing
  • Antonio Manzo, Monkey Business Racing
  • Rogelio Pereira, McMillin Racing
  • Jeff Smith, Parkhouse Motorsports
  • Bobby Youngs, Slam Life Racing-Honda

SCORE Journalist of the Year

  • Daniel Antuna, LaCronica/Frontera
  • Raul Ayub, CBC Radio
  • Gabriel Garcia, SCORE Social Media
  • Mike Ingalsbee, Freelance
  • Dan Sanchez, SCORE Journal

SCORE Photographer of the Year

  • Ernesto Ariaza, Off-Road Racer
  • Brian Binkert, Bink Designs
  • Art Eugenio, GetSomePhoto
  • Alex Ponce, MyBajaPhoto

SCORE Videographer of the Year

  • Bud Brutsman, BCII TV
  • Esteban Flores, Cactus Films
  • Curtis Guise, JD Films

SCORE Team Manager of the Year

  • Santiago Creel, Monkey Business Racing
  • Rick Geiser, RPM Racing
  • Kristen Matlock, Matlock Racing
  • Chris Olimon, McMillin Racing
  • Don Woods, Monster Energy Can-Am Racing

SCORE Rookie of the Year

  • Randy Emberton, Pro Stock UTV
  • Pierce Herbst, Trophy Truck Spec
  • Trey Hernquist, Class 5
  • Juan Carlos Salvatierra, Pro Moto Ironman
  • Eliott Watson, Pro UTV Unlimited

     In addition to the special SCORE Achievement Awards and the Pro and Sportsman classes that qualified racers for class season championships, the five overall point champions will again be recognized. Another highlight of the virtual event will be the presentation of the annual SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards.
     Individuals as well as manufacturers and organizations are honored through eight distinct SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards, whose winners are decided by several thousand SCORE fans through online voting including the entire SCORE membership of more than 2,500. Among the awards to be presented are SCORE Rookie of the year, SCORE Contingency Company of the year, SCORE Pit Support Team of the year, SCORE Mechanic of the year and SCORE Team Manager of the year. Online voting is underway through
     The 2020 Manufacturer point champions to be honored as well during the virtual SCORE Awards Night are Jimco Racing (Original Open Wheel Chassis), Kroyer Racing Engines (Engine Builder), Geiser Brothers (Original Truck Chassis), Polaris (UTV) and KTM (Motorcycle).
     Another element of the diverse program for the virtual evening will be the presentation of the 2020 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by VP Racing Fuels.  As it has for 35 years, the coveted Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards are presented to those racers who finish every required mile as official finishers of the 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship. A total of 43 racers completed all 1,291.40 required miles in the pandemic-abbreviated two-race 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship.
     Also part of the virtual evening will be the presentation of the SCORE Legacy Award and the SCORE Person of the Year Award which are selected by SCORE in consultation with several industry professionals and racers.
     The virtual evening will also include a colorful video/photographic tribute to the 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship produced by BCII TV, SCORE Live and GetSomePhoto.
     Popular SCORE live announcer Rat Sult will be the host of the virtual 2020 SCORE Awards Night.
     Here are the dates for the four-race 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship which will be held in Baja California, Mexico for the sixth consecutive year:

  • 34th SCORE San Felipe 250, presented by Ford—

April 14-18, San Felipe, Mexico

  • BFGoodrich Tires 53rd SCORE Baja 500, presented by 4 Wheel Parts—

June 9-13, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

  • 2nd SCORE Baja 400, presented by VP Racing Fuels—

September 14-19, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

  • BFGoodrich Tires 54th SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts—

November 15-20, Ensenada, Baja California to La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico
     For the second straight year, the 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship are airing on the ABC family of networks. The two-races will air as specials on World of X Games program.
     ABC first covered the 1967 and 1968 Baja 1000 races on the old ABC Wide World of Sports show with Jim McKay and again in the late 1980s with veteran motorsports journalist Sam Posey.
     All of the SCORE race coverage shows also continue to air internationally in nearly 25 countries in Europe, Asia, Latin America and South America via syndication and ESPN International. The shows are co-produced by SCORE International and SoCal’s award-winning BCII TV.
Official SCORE Sponsors: BFGoodrich Tires-Official Tire and Race Title Sponsor, Monster Energy-Official Energy Drink, 4 Wheel Parts-Official Off-Road Retailer and Race Presenting Partner, Ford-Official Truck and SUV, King Shocks-Official Shock Absorber, Polaris RZR-Official UTV, RACELINE Wheels-Official Wheel, VP Racing Fuels-Official Fuel, Wide Open Excursions-Official Arrive and Drive Company, Crystal Bay Casino-Official Casino.
SCORE Official Partners: PCI Race Radios, The Satellite Phone Store, Instant Mexico Auto Insurance, Lucerna Hotel.
Additional SCORE Associate Partners: Baja California Secretary of Sustainable Economy and Tourism, XXIII Ensenada Municipal Government, XXIII Mexicali Municipal Government, Mexicali and San Felipe COTUCO, Cruz Roja Mexicana.
     For more information regarding SCORE, visit the official website of the SCORE World Desert Championship at