All Or Nothing At Firebird –

All Or Nothing At Firebird

Pro 4 Unlimited racing action kicked off opening ceremonies with a bang. Instead of starting on the poll as he qualified, Kyle LeDuc shuffled to the back of the pack and found himself dealing with motor issues before the race even started. This was sure to shake things up a bit as this would shuffle Todd LeDuc (sitting just 16 points behind in the hunt for a championship) up one position and would pressure Kyle LeDuc to not let the 2012 Pro 4 Unlimited championship slip away. A few close calls and a few open doors nearly allowed Todd LeDuc to edge out his younger brother (Kyle LeDuc) for the championship but Kyle showed his true grit and battled all the way to the checkered flag.

Fortunately for Kyle LeDuc, he didn’t let the pressure get to him and was able to keep his cool in order to clinch the Pro 4 Unlimited Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Championship. LeDuc finished in the third place position right behind Carl Renezeder and Todd LeDuc. Kyle LeDuc ends the 2012 season with 11 podiums and 7 first place victories in 15 rounds of racing action.

The General Brian Deegan took control of the Pro Lite Unlimited race from green to checkers. 2012 Pro Lite Unlimited Champion RJ Anderson put in a valiant effort in order to put a stamp on his championship that he won just one round ago but came up short after a quick stop to the hot pits put him a lap down. Brian Deegan would lead Casey Currie and Bradley Morris to the podium making this Currie’s 9th trip to the podium and Deegan’s 7th trip in the 2012 race series.

“I like being in those pressure situations and that’s why I race, I’m just super pumped that we were able to come on top” commented Deegan.

Just what we have all been waiting for! The Pro 2 Unlimited race was a battle of the points leaders; Rob MacCachren, Marty Hart and Brian Deegan. With high hopes for poll sitter Robby Woods, it was with great disappointment to see Woods go out early in the race (after multiple restarts) with mechanical failure on a caution lap. Points leaders took the helm and put on a show for the sold out crowd here in Chandler, Arizona. The dominating trio would swap positions multiple times and would finally settle into place once MacCachren made his move to the front and made it stick. MacCachren would finish the race on top of the podium followed by Marty Hart and Brian Deegan. The trio would consume 25 total podiums in 2012.

Deegan’s podium in around 15 would solidify his second consecutive P2 Unlimited championship in the Lucas Oil Off Road Race Series.

Words by Adam “Gunnslinger” Gunn
Photos by Jason Zindroski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *