Baja Aragón – Nani Roma New Provisional Leader –

Baja Aragón – Nani Roma New Provisional Leader

Peterhansel lost 15 minutes in overall for a broken brake. Barreda keeps first position in bikes

Baja Aragón 2013´s first day started from Teruel to race along 350 kilometers that were very fruitful for most of the drivers and that got the best out of them.

Nani Roma leads after day 2 of Baja Aragon

Nani Roma, starting second overall, finally lead the cars with a total time of 04:43:39, six minutes ahead of Argentinian Orlando Terranova, who claimed “very happy with the result”. Polish Holowczyc, also their team mate, was third. Stéphane Peterhansel, who started as leader and was the fastest in the first section of the day, lost more than 15 minutes after a brake problem.  Waiting for what tomorrow´s stage has to offer, Peterhansel is fourth overall for the moment.

Among the Spanish, Luis Recuenco finished ahead of Jordi Gaig and also leads the Spanish Cross Country Championship.

Joan Barreda leads after day 2 of Baja Aragon

In motorbikes, Joan Barreda, who clinched victory yesterday in the Super Special Stage, kept his leadership after being the fastest today. He is six minutes ahead his closest contender, Jordi Viladoms. It´s worth mentioning that ex trial rider Dani Oliveras finished third today even though this is his first off road experience. He finished ahead of other experienced riders such as Pellicer or Marc Guasch.

Also remarkable, Aragonese Mario Gajón was first in quads, after having participated several times in Baja Aragon, an event he willingly awaits during the whole year.

Among trucks, after the abandon of David Oliveras in the first section, final victory went to Jo Adua, last year´s champion, who finished ahead of Manuel Borrero.

Isidre Esteve taking a water crossing in his UTV
Isidre Esteve taking a water crossing in his UTV

Isidre Esteve is the current leader in buggies.

Tomorrow´s stage, the last one of the competition, will start at 07:00 for cars and 08:15 for bikes and quads.

Around 14:30, the finishers will start to arrive in Teruel and will celebrate the awards ceremony at 20:00.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *